Cort wins in Oman, Modolo in Andalucia, Factor One updated: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

February 17, 2018

Cort wins stage 4 of the Tour of Oman; Modolo wins stage 3 of the Vuelta a Andalucia/Ruta del Sol; Thomas wins stage three TT at Volta ao Algarve; Dennis eyeing TT victory in upcoming Abu Dhabi Tour; Tour de Suisse and Strade Bianche name wild cards for 2018 events; OVO Energy announces two year backing of the Women’s Tour, Tour of Britain and the Tour Series; Craven leaving Israel Cycling Academy, announces next team; Western Australian Road Safety Commission’s safety campaign dropped after cyclists’ criticism; Factor updates the ONE: Faster, stiffer and with brake options; Video: Sa Calobra (Coll dels Reis) with Fränk Schleck – Cycling Inspiration & Education; Video: Best landscapes – Stage 4 – Tour of Oman 2018; Photo: Keeping it in the family…

Tour de Suisse and Strade Bianche name wild cards for 2018 events

by VeloClub

Larry Warbasse takes stage 4 of 2017 Tour de Suisse

Larry Warbasse won stage 4 of 2017 Tour de Suisse

The organisers of the Tour de Suisse have named the three teams that will be given a place alongside the WorldTour outfits this year, confirming that Aqua Blue Sport, Direct Energie and Nippo-Vini Fantini Europa Ovini will ride.

Irish squad Aqua Blue Sport won a stage last year with Larry Warbasse, who was first on the mountain stage to Villars-sur-Ollon. Direct Energie also received a wildcard last year and will include Sylvain Chavanel in its lineup. He build up Swiss fans during his two years with the country’s IAM Cycling squad.

Nippo-Vini Fantini Europa Ovini will ride the race with 2004 Giro d’Italia winner Damiano Cunego. He is set to retire at the Italian championships and his participation in the event will mark his last WorldTour race and final stage race.

Meanwhile the organisers of Strade Bianche has announced three wildcards for this year’s race, one more than anticipated. They are Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec, Nippo – Vini Fantini and world cyclocross champion Wout Van Aert’s Veranda’s Willems – Crelan setup. It has also named the 24 women’s teams that will take part.

For more details, see here.