Your Friday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

January 13, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: 2017 Vuelta route to start in Nimes, France, with a return to fabled climb l’Angliru; Alison Powers launches amateur racing team with a new approach; Brailsford responds to bullying allegations; Valverde injured on training ride; Kittel speaks out about TUE use; Westra opens up about decision to quit; British Transport Secretary: ‘cyclists are not road users’; Tour of Utah announces host cities, adds ITT; NBC Sports announces 2017 cycling coverage; Behind the scenes with UCI Cyclocross World Championships organisers; POV preview of the UCI Cyclocross World Championship course; Video: Factory CrossArena; Video: Bradley Wiggins’ practices on ‘The Jump.’

Tour of Utah announces host cities, adds ITT

by CyclingTips

The Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah announced the dates and host venues for the 2017 edition of the week-long men’s professional cycling race known as ‘America’s Toughest Stage Race.’Scheduled for July 31 – August 6, the 2.HC Tour of Utah will begin in Logan and conclude in Salt Lake City. The biggest change for this year is the addition of an individual time trial for the first time in the event’s 13-year history.

“The stage destinations for the Tour of Utah change each year with the intention of bringing the sport of cycling to new people, presenting challenging courses for the riders, and showcasing the stunning scenery around the state,” said Jenn Andrs, executive director of the Tour of Utah. “What remains the same is the excitement generated by the race, the gathering of local communities for a special event, and the performance of world-class riders. We look forward to organizing a great race for Utah this August.”

Big Cottonwood Canyon in Salt Lake County will be the site of an uphill individual time trial for the third stage. While a team time trial has been used in previous editions, this will be a unique change for the race’s format.

Daily stages include four first-time hosts in Brigham City, Big Cottonwood Canyon, South Jordan City and Layton; challenging climbs in the Wasatch Range around Snowbasin Resort; a flag-waving sprint finish in Bountiful; and the traditional Queen Stage from Heber Valley to Snowbird Resort. Details regarding each stage route such as race mileage and formats, elevation gain, and start/finish times will be announced in the late spring.

Stage 1: July 31 – Logan
Stage 2: August 1 – Brigham City to Snowbasin
Stage 3: August 2 – Big Cottonwood Canyon (ITT)
Stage 4: August 3 – South Jordan
Stage 5: August 4 – Layton City to Bountiful
Stage 6: August 5 – Heber Valley to Snowbird Resort
Stage 7: August 6 – Salt Lake City