Your Tuesday Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

June 20, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: Dennis not optimistic about Tour de France selection; Moscon says conscience is clean after end of his suspension for racist comments; Analysing where British Cycling is at after the publication of controversial independent review; Elissonde psyched after netting third in Route du Sud; Canyon/SRAM Zwift Academy rider Leah Thorvilson gears up to ride the Giro Rosa; Rally Cycling dominates men’s and women’s North Star Grand Prix races; Cyclist writes own obituary to highlight dangers riders face; Team Sunweb riders chasing national championship success; Diplomatic immunity means Saudi driver looks set to escape prosecution over fatal dooring incident; Tour de Pharmacy official Trailer # 2; The Passion Of Cycling

Rally Cycling dominates men’s and women’s North Star Grand Prix races

by VeloClub

The Rally Cycling team is celebrating a dominant showing at the 2017 North Star Grand Prix, taking the overall classification and best young rider awards in both the men’s and women’s race, and also clocking up four stage wins.

Colin Joyce beat teammate Brandon McNulty and Bryan Gomez (Gateway Harley-Davidson-Trek) in the final GC in the men’s event, continuing a winning streak for the team that now covers the past seven years. It is one of his biggest wins to date.

“Wins in this sport don’t come easy, and they don’t come often, so to get one shows all the hard work myself and the team have put in,” said Joyce. “In the final stage, the team made it easy for me. Tom (Soladay), Danny (Pate) and Evan (Huffman) just smashed the front all day. I was able just to sit in and save it until the finish. The team has been incredible all week, and to get the win in the team’s hometown is special.” McNulty won the opening time trial, Brad Huff won the Cannon Falls road stage and Joyce took Saturday’s Mankato road race.

In the women’s race, Emma White was best, winning ahead of Marlies MejiasGarcia (Weber Shimano Ladies Power) and Ruth Winder (UnitedHealthcare). She also took the best young rider award, joining Nulty who took the white jersey in the men’s event.

“Going into the final stage, I only had a four-second lead, so we couldn’t let anyone go up the road,” she said after the final stage. “The team did a great job keeping everything close and me near the front of the group. They spent the entire day on the front, and I am fortunate to have had the team supporting me. It was pretty clear we were the dominant team and were in control the entire race.”

North Star Grand Prix Final General Classification – men

1. Colin Joyce (Rally Cycling)
2. Brandon McNulty (Rally Cycling)
3. Bryan Gomez (Gateway Harley-Davidson-Trek)
4. Kevin Girkins (ELBOWZ Racing)
5. Cory Lockwood (Elevate-KHS Pro Cycling)

North Star Grand Prix Final General Classification – women

1. Emma White (Rally Cycling)
2. Marlies MejiasGarcia (Weber Shimano Ladies Power)
3. Ruth Winder (UnitedHealthcare)
4. Brianna Walle (Team TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank)
5. Tayler Wiles (UnitedHealthcare)