Your Tuesday Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

August 15, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: ‘I want to win the Tour,’ declares Uran, announcing three-year contract extension; Meintjes rejoins Team Dimension Data for 2018; Froome chasing place in history as Team Sky’s Vuelta line-up named; Former winner Nibali: I’ve worked hard for the Vuelta; Glittering Orica-Scott GC squad for Vuelta a España; BMC Racing Team to Vuelta ‘with one of the strongest rosters we have named’; UAE Team Emirates targets top 10 in Vuelta, Katusha-Alpecin and Movistar also name squads; Revamped Three Days de Panne to Include WWT Event; Hepburn extends with Orica-Scott until end 2019; Astana signs Hirt, Keisse extends with Quick Step, Fabbro to Katusha; Canyon launches first full-carbon cyclocross bike: Inflite CF SLX; Video: Surprised competition winner gets handed pro bike by professional rider; Video: Contador relaxes at home; Video: High speed hand-up; Video: Uran struts his stuff at the Colorado Classic

UAE Team Emirates targets top 10 in Vuelta, Katusha-Alpecin and Movistar also name squads

by VeloClub

The UAE Team Emirates team of Louis Meintjes and former world champion Rui Costa have announced a common objective for duo in the Vuelta a España, with the squad saying that both are chasing top ten overall finishes.

“I have been doing high altitude training in Andorra to prepare for the Vuelta a España,” said Meintjes. “The goal is to fight for the GC but we will have to see how my body has recovered after the Tour de France effort.”

“This will be my first Vuelta a Espana and I’m happy to ride in it,” said Costa. “I want to live day by day without thinking specifically about the General Classification, enjoying every single stage. The third one will already be a good test to understand what kind of shape I’m in.” They will be backed seven teammates, namely Darwin Atapuma, Jan Polanc, Sacha Modolo, Matej Mohoric, Przemyslaw Niemiec, Anass Ait El Abdia and Federico Zurlo.

Meanwhile two other squads have also finalised their selections, with Katusha Alpecin naming Ilnur Zakarin, Maxim Belkov, Sven Erik Bystrøm, José Gonçalves, Marco Haller, Alberto Losada, Matvey Mamykin, Michael Mørkøv and Rein Taaramäe as its nine.

Movistar is missing a tired Nairo Quintana and an injured Alejandro Valverde, and will feature Jorge Arcas, Carlos Betancur, Richard Carapaz, Rubén Fernández, Dani Moreno, Nelson Oliveira, Antonio Pedrero, José Joaquín Rojas and Marc Soler.