Your Thursday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

June 29, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: UCI clarifies implementation of protocol for calculating time gaps on bunch-sprint stages; Coquard: ‘It hurts not going to Tour de France’; Video: Chris Froome tells Eurosport what he is expecting for Tour de France; Merida unveils new Reacto III road aero bike for Tour de France; Former teammate weighs in on Cardoso’s EPO positive; ‘Pocket lab’ tests blood in 30 seconds, changing how cyclists train; Team Sunweb adds German duo Max Kanter and Leon Rohde to WorldTour roster as stagiaires; Video: Trailer for All For One, documenting first five years of GreenEdge team; Video: Pilot for documentary tracing paralympian David Smith through three spinal tumour operations.

UCI clarifies implementation of protocol for calculating time gaps on bunch-sprint stages

by CyclingTips

The UCI has published its protocol for implementing a change to the way time gaps are calculated on bunch-sprint finishes of stage races. The objective is to adapt the method of calculating time gaps at the finish by increasing the time gap required for a split to three seconds (instead of one second).

“This would mean that a rider who is distanced from the previous rider in front of him by less than three seconds would be given the same time,” the document reads. “It is useful to translate these time gaps into distances to allow the rule to be clearly visualised. Thus, in a sprint at 60 km/h the actual distance between riders represents: A one-second gap = 17 metres. A three-second gap = 50 metres.”

This protocol will be implemented by the UCI during the 2017 Tour de France in consultation with the event organiser (ASO), event timekeeping company (Matsport Timing) and the UCI Commissaires’ Panel.

“This proposed revision,” the UCI stated, “which is in response to the increased stress and risk during Grand Tour bunch sprints, retains the integrity of the sprint and the stage.”

The following Tour de France stages, identified as “expected to finish in a bunch sprint” will be included in the protocol:
Stage 2: Düsseldorf-Liège
Stage 6: Vesoul-Troyes
Stage 7: Troyes-Nuits-Saint-Georges
Stage 10: Périgueux-Bergerac
Stage 16: Le Puy-en-Velay-Romans sur Isère
Stage 19: Embrun-Salon-de-Provence
Stage 21: Montgeron-Paris/Champs-Elysées

To read more, click through to