Greipel wins at Tour Down Under, Froome’s kidney defence: Daily News Digest

by Shane Stokes

January 17, 2018

Greipel back to his winning ways on stage 1 of the Tour Down Under; Report: Froome’s defence to be based on malfunctioning kidneys argument; Bardet wants Froome to take a voluntary suspension while salbutamol case is progressing; UCI challenges Lotto-Soudal’s claims that Lambrecht was treated unfairly; Brussels Grand Départ announced for 2019 Tour de France; Landis predicts Froome case could spell end for Team Sky; USA Cycling announces squad for UCI cyclocross world championships; 100 years of the yellow jersey…but Froome is omitted; Video: Halvorsen talks about planned recovery from wrist fracture; Video: Cavendish interviewed by Irish amateurs on training ride

USA Cycling announces squad for UCI cyclocross world championships

by CyclingTips

USA Cycling has announced 31 athletes to represent the US at the UCI cyclocross world championships on February 3 and 4 in Valkenburg-Limburg, the Netherlands. A total of 12 places were as a result of automatic selection criteria, with the USA Cycling selection committee determining the remaining places. They relied primarily on international results.

“We have assembled a talented team and look forward to competing against the world’s best cyclocross athletes at the World Championships on the hallowed and challenging Valkenburg circuit in cycling-crazy Limburg,” said Geoff Proctor, USA Cycling’s Cyclocross Performance Consultant.

The rosters are:

Elite men:

Tristan Cowie (Triple Oaks Racing; Mills River, N.C.); Stephen Hyde* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Easthampton, Mass.); Cody Kaiser (LangeTwins/Specialized Bicycles/SRAM; El Dorado Hills, Calif.); Jack Kisseberth (JAM Fund/NCC; Westhampton, Mass.); Tobin Ortinblad* (Santa Cruz/Donkey Label; Santa Cruz, Calif.); Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing; Easthampton, Mass.); Kerry Werner* (Kona Endurance Team; Birdsboro, Penn.)

Elite women: Elle Anderson ( – Alpha Motorhomes; Oakland, Calif.); Katie Compton* (KFC Racing p/b Trek/Panache; Colorado Springs, Colo.); Rebecca Fahringer (Stan’s No Tubes/Maxxis; Concord, N.H.); Kaitin Keough* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Colorado Springs, Colo.); Courtenay McFadden (GE Capital/American Classic; Bellingham, Wash.); Ellen Noble* (Aspire Racing; Kennebunkport, Maine)

U23 men: Eric Brunner (EVOL DevoElite Racing; Boulder, Colo.); Maxx Chance (EVOL DevoElite Racing; Boulder, Colo.); Grant Ellwood (Boulder Cycle Sport; Boulder, Colo.); Gage Hecht* (Alpha Bicycle Co.- Vista Subaru; Parker, Colo.); Spencer Petrov (ASPIRE Racing; Mason, Ohio); Denzel Stephenson (EVOL DevoElite Racing; Boulder, Colo.)

U23 women: Hannah Arensman (J.A. King p/b BR’C; Rutherford College, N.C.); Katie Clouse (Alpha Bicycle Co.-Groove Subaru; Park City, Utah); Clara Honsinger (Washington State Bicycle Association, Portland, OR); Laurel Rathbun (Donnelly Cycling; Monument, Colo.); Emma Swartz (Trek Cyclocross Collective; Madison, Wisc.); Emma White* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Delanson, N.Y)

Junior men: Scott Funston* (Rad Racing NW; Maple Valley, Wash.); Benjamin Gomez Villafane* (Top Club; Scotts Valley, Calif.); Lane Maher (Hot Tubes Development Cycling; Harwinton, Conn.); Alex Morton* (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Saint Clair, Mich.); Sam Noel (Cannondale p/b Cyclocrossworld; Shelburne, Vt.); Calder Wood* (Rad Racing NW; Anacortes, Wash.)

*Automatic qualifiers