Your Wednesday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

January 11, 2017

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Leopold König explains his path from Sky domestique to Giro d’Italia contender; Brailsford critcised UKAD chairman for speaking about investigation; Contador says he is happy to be finished with Oleg Tinkov; Velocite company owner alleges patent infringement by Pinarello; Niels Albert criticises elder van der Poel for working on world champs course construction; Athletes blast UCI for short notice on world championships; USA Cycling names cyclocross World Championships team; Christoph Strasser’s Australian record-breaking adventure starts in Perth today; British All Party Parliamentary Cycling Group seeking cyclists involved in traffic incidents; Stephen Hyde on the lead-up to nationals; Euro-cross recap video; Farmer drops pro triathletes like a boss; Fat Bike caught on electric fence.

USA Cycling names cyclocross World Championships team

by CyclingTips

Following the US National Cyclocross Championships in Hartford over the weekend, USA Cycling named the riders who will represent the country at the end of the month in Luxembourg. 13-time national champion Katie Compton (KFC Racing p/b Trek/Panache) and first-time champion Stephen Hyde (Cannondale Cyclocrossword), who are both also Pan-American champions, will lead the elite teams, while Lance Haidet (Raleigh/Clement) and Ellen Noble (Aspire Racing) will captain the U23 squads after winning those titles.

Same hit of the bottle, different year, for bronze medalist Kaitie Antonneau.

“We have depth and talent in all of our categories this year and look forward to a strong showing in Luxembourg,” said Marc Gullickson, USA Cycling’s Cyclocross Program Director.

Hyde will be joined by Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo Cycling Team), Jack Kisseberth (Jam Fund-NCC), Travis Livermon (Maxxis-Shimano), Tobin Ortenblad (San Cruz Factory Racing), Kerry Werner (Kona Endurance) and former national champion Jeremy Powers (Aspire Racing). Powers told CyclingTips was unsure of receiving a selection following a disappointing performance on Sunday that reflected the way his entire season has gone. He said he was planning on racing the upcoming World Cup events regardless, but was also given an automatic bid.  USA Cycling confirmed that Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh-Clement), who finished a close second to Hyde in Hartford, declined a spot on the team.

Joining Compton on the women’s team is Elle Anderson (Elle Anderson Racing), Kaitlin Antonneau (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld), Rebecca Fahringer (Amy D. Foundation), Courtenay McFadden (American Classic/Zones) and Amanda Miller (Boulder Cycle Sport/YogaGlo).

National champion Denzel Stephenson (Boulder Junior Cycling) leads a strong junior men’s squad.

Click through to read more at USA Cycling.