Your Monday Daily News Digest

by CyclingTips

August 1, 2016

In today’s CT Daily News Digest: Mollema wins Clasica San Sebastian; Kirsten Wild wins women’s Prudential RideLondon; Boonen speeds in to win Prudential Ride London Classic; Valgren continues Tinkoff team’s overall success in Tour of Denmark; Sergiy Lagkuti wins the Tour of Qinghai Lake; Ulissi beats Yates to win Circuito de Getxo Memorial Ricardo Otxoa; Clarke triumphs on stage three of Volta a Portugal; RideLondon sportif crashes delay pro men’s race; Post-Tour crits: The pro wrestling of cycling; The inner workings of the post-Tour de France criteriums; Transcontinental No.4 has begun; Girdlestone still battling effects of severe crash: ‘The most testing 8 weeks of my life’; Altitude Training Camp 2016 – An Post Chain Reaction  

Valgren continues Tinkoff team’s overall success in Tour of Denmark

by VeloClub

Tinkoff rider Michael Valgren took a farewell win for his team in the Tour of Denmark on Sunday, sealing the overall victory in the event. Although the squad has taken on a decidedly Russian feel since being bought by Oleg Tinkov, it has a strong history in the event due to its previous Danish connections, and Valgren continued that with a home soil win.

He seized the race leader’s jersey on Friday’s third stage and then defended it from that point. In Saturday’s 19.6 kilometre Nyborg time trial he finished fourth, ten seconds behind the Danish winner Mads Würtz Schmidt (Virtu Pro – Veloconcept), and extended his lead over Magnus Cort Nielsen (Team Postnord Danmark) to 17 seconds.

Sunday’s concluding stage ran 175 kilometres between Karrebæksminde to Frederiksberg and ended in a bunch gallop. Phil Bauhaus (Bora-Argon 18) was quickest, beating Moreno Hofland (Team LottoNl-Jumbo) and Tinkoff’s Daniele Bennatti. Valgren rolled in fifth and secured his win.

He ended the 2.HC race ten seconds clear of Cort Nielsen, with Schmidt a further 47 seconds back in third.

“It was a perfect day,” said Bauhaus. “Rudi (Selig) brought me in a good position, with 1k to go he dropped me at the Tinkoff train. In the sprint I caught the wheel of Hofland then and could overtake him on the last metres. I am super happy with this win.”

In all the Tinkoff team and its previous incarnations won the race nine times since 2002.

Final Classification: > - Stage Result

Sunday 31st July 2016

1. dk
2. dk
Team Postnord Danmark
3. dk
Virtu Pro Veloconcept