Your Saturday Daily News Digest

by Mark Zalewski

December 10, 2016

In today’s CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Joaquim Rodriguez makes final decision to retire, committing to a Bahrain-Merida staff role; No positive doping tests at 2016 Tour de France; Mclaren report, part two, shows Russian doping of 1,000 Athletes across 30 Sports; Wiggins will not be cited over mystery medical package; Yorkshire interested in hosting Vuelta start; Sydney’s Olympic velodrome future uncertain; Johan Museeuw Classic changes to one-day format; Lars Boom makes quiet start to cyclocross season; Volta ao Algarve announces 2017 route; Axeon Hagens Berman 2017 roster; Cycling Academy finalises roster; Laura Kenny named Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year; Video reminds cyclists to always wear a helmet; Red Bull Trans-Siberian Extreme race; Can a bicycle power your house?

Volta ao Algarve announces 2017 route

by CyclingTips

The five-day Volta ao Algarve in Portugal, upgraded to a 2.HC event next year, announced its 2017 route The43rd edition of the race will have a similar distribution as this year, with stages for sprinters, time trial specialists and climbers. The February date makes it a tradition first race for many stage race specialists.

The Alto do Malhao climb.

The Alto do Malhao climb.

The 180.3km opening stage from Albufeira to Lagos is set for the sprinters, but is followed by a second stage that climbs the Alto da Fóia, the first test for the GC contenders.

The third stage will again be the 18km flat individual time trial around Sagres. This is followed by the longest stage at 203,4 kilometers from Almodôvar to Tavira, but the mostly flat route will be another for the sprinters.

The final stage of the race is from Loulé to the top of the Malhão climb, 2.8 km long summit finish with an average gradient of 8.9 percent. The last 41.5 kilometers of the stage includes three climbs. Alberto Contador (Tinkoff) won the stage this year, with Geraint Thomas (Sky) winning the overall.

Ten WorldTour teams are already confirmed for the 2017 race.

Click through to read more at Volta ao Algarve.