Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Matt de Neef

May 8, 2017

In today’s edition of the CyclingTips Daily News Digest: Fernando Gaviria takes Giro d’Italia lead with stage 3 victory; Jolien D’Hoore victorious at the Tour of Chongming Island; Kirill Pozdnyakov wraps up overall victory at the Tour d’Azerbaidjan; Marianne Vos claims her first win of the season at Trofee Maarten Wynants; Ruth Winder, TJ Eisenhart win the Redlands Bicycle Classic; Shannon Malseed wins the Tour of the South West; Rohan Dennis crashes out of Giro GC contention; Caleb Ewan devastated after missed opportunity on Giro’s second stage; Nicola Ruffoni suggests prostate infection as cause for positive test; British cycling apparel brand Vulpine enters administration; Two cyclists killed as alleged drunk and drugged driver hits group in Spain; Video – Van driver forces cyclist off the road.

Ruth Winder, TJ Eisenhart win the Redlands Bicycle Classic

by Matt de Neef

Ruth Winder (UnitedHealthcare) and TJ Eisenhart (Holowesko-Citadel) have taken overall honours at the Redlands Bicycle Classics in California, USA.

Eisenhart moved into the lead back on stage 2 of the five-stage race when he soloed to victory in the Yucaipa Road Race. The Utah native and his team were able to defend the overall lead through the remaining three stages as Michael Rice (Axeon Hagens Berman) won the stage 3 road race, Gage Hecht (Aevolo) won the stage 4 criterium, and Francisco Mancebo (Canyon Pro Cycling) won the final stage solo.

In the elite women’s race, Winder went into the final stage in third place, nearly two minutes down on overall leader Amber Neben (The Dare To Be Project). Neben had won the stage 1 individual time trial then defended her lead as Katie Hall (UnitedHealthcare) won stage 2, Lauren Stephens (Tibco-Silicon Valley Bank) won stage 3, and Claire Rose (Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling) claimed stage 4.

On the final stage, Winder attacked from the breakaway and went on to win the stage solo after her companion Jasmin Duehring (Sho-Air Twenty20) crashed on the final corner. Winder had enough of a gap to take the overall title, with Neben second and Hall third.