Your Monday Daily News Digest

by Neal Rogers

July 10, 2017

In today’s Daily News Digest: Uran wins chaotic Stage 9 that sees Porte, Thomas, Gesink crash out of Tour de France; Van der Breggen is 2017 Giro Rosa champion; teammate Guarnier wins final stage; Winder wins Tour de Feminin as Labous wins final stage; Richie Porte crashes out of Tour de France with broken pelvis and collarbone; Geraint Thomas abandons Tour de France with broken collarbone; Uran wins Tour stage with bent derailleur hanger, stuck in 11-sprocket; Dan Martin loses time in Porte crash at Tour de France; FDJ loses four riders, including Arnaud Démare, to time cut on Stage 9 of Tour de France; Outside magazine interviews ‘Tour de Pharmacy’ writer and star Andy Samberg; Video: Taylor Phinney goes nude to introduce his Cannondale-Drapac Tour de France teammates; Video: GoPro’s Tour de France Stage 9 highlights

Winder wins Tour de Feminin as Labous wins final stage

by Jeanine Laudy

UnitedHealthcare lined up for the fifth and last stage of Tour de Feminin, the four-day stage race in the Czech Republic, with a safe margin for GC leader Ruth Winder, 1:12 ahead of the number two. However, race organisers had left the queen stage for the final day, so the American team had one more tough day ahead of them to defend the jersey.

A big crash interrupted the stage after 33 kilometres, which led to the race being neutralised because of the number of riders involved. The race would soon continue without any serious injuries reported.

Around 20 riders were left in the bunch across the top of the biggest climb of the day, halfway through the stage. All of UnitedHealthCare was represented in that group and they successfully protected Winder for the remainder of the stage. She finished ninth on the stage, five seconds behind stage winner Juliette Labous (Team Sunweb, riding for French national team).

Tayler Wiles’ second-place finish on the stage moved her up to second place overall, meaning UnitedHealthcare came away with the top two spots in the GC. Stage 3a winner Ann-Sophie Duyck (Belgian national team) rounded out the GC podium, as she switched places with Wiles.

Stage 5: Varnsdorf > Krasna Lipa - Stage Result

Sunday 9th July 2017

1. fr
LABOUS Juliette
Team Sunweb
2. us
WILES Tayler
UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women’s Team
3. fr
Lotto Soudal Ladies
4. fr
ERAUD Séverine
FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope
5. be
DUYCK Ann-sophie
6. us
HALL Katie
UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women’s Team
7. de
8. ua
Parkhotel Valkenburg - Destil Cycling Team
9. us
UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Women’s Team
10. pl